We are starting a series on important yet overlooked driving laws in Florida. Today we will focus on turn signals. I am sure you see people neglect using this when changing lanes especially more times than not. This is a very dangerous practice that can lead to accidents, and if you are on a highway at a high speed, this could be disastrous.
According to Florida law:
Section 316.155 of Florida Statutes sets forth the times when a turn signal is required. Any vehicle turning right or left or changing lanes, must use signal an intention to turn for at least 100 feet prior to turning or changing lanes. Visually speaking, 100 feet is about the length of six cars lined up bumper to bumper.
You can in fact receive a ticket for this. It so rarely happens though most Florida drivers continue to ignore the law, or are unaware that it is a law, and turn, switch lanes and exit highways without signaling to other drivers around them.
Here are some additional facts you may be unaware of when it comes to signaling on the roads:
- In Florida a bicycle is considered a vehicle. Bike riders can use there arm as a way to alert those around them which way they are going. A hand signal does not need to be continuously given for 100 feet if the hand is needed to properly operate the bicycle.
- According to Florida Statute §316.155(4), a driver may not use the directional signal on a parked or disabled vehicle or flash it as a courtesy or “do pass” signal to drivers of other vehicles approaching from the rear.
- Four-way emergency flash lights should only be used while a vehicle is legally stopped or disabled on a road. The violation of this statute is considered a noncriminal traffic violation, punishable as a moving violation.
Be sure to check back next week for the next part in this series. Also you can follow us on twitter @bgains and find us on facebook!